Skip to content

Spring Break – practicing how to deal.

Well this is turning out to be a different kind of Spring Break than I thought it would be only a few short weeks ago! A lot of us are sad about plans that got derailed because of Covid 19.  It is disappointing for sure, but here’s where we can put into action the “controlling my thoughts” exercise. (Also called the CBT triangle…Thinking-Feeling-Acting).  I can keep thinking about how disappointing this is, which will make me feel irritated, angry, sad (sometimes all at the same time!) and will cause me to have a bad attitude, say things I will be sorry for, and mope around, eating chips and feeling gross. Or, I can force my thoughts to more positive places. Such as…there are lots of things I can do around home.  I can learn a new song, a new dance, some new art, read some new books  etc.  When I think this way, I will feel accomplished and happier, which will help me to speak more positively, have a more pleasant attitude and get along with the people in my house better.  I know that it is much easier to say those words than to live them, but with practice, it does get easier.

Published inUncategorized
Skip to toolbar