Skip to content

Changing your thinking part 2

Yesterday I talked a little bit about how important it is to choose your thoughts carefully.  Sometimes, however, we find ourselves in a thinking “rut” and can’t seem to get out of a negative way of thinking. One way to change the thinking is to replace the unwanted thought with a more positive thought. In the example yesterday, I replaced the negative thought “I suck at drawing” with the more positive one, “with practice I’ll get better”. Sometimes our unwanted thoughts are a bit more destructive, but they can be replaced, too – and with intentional practice, you will usually find yourself with a more positive outlook.  I’ve attached a “Cognitive Triangle” picture that might help.

https://ecdn.teacherspayteachers.com/thumbitem/Cognitive-Triangle-3920542-1570868305/original-3920542-1.jpg

I  hope this visual helps you change your message to yourself.  🙂

Published inUncategorized
Skip to toolbar